Nominations for SC13 Cray, Fernbach and Kennedy Awards Due July 1

DENVER, CO – May 14, 2013. SC13, the premier international conference for high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis, is accepting nominations for three distinguished awards that will be presented at the conference in November.

The IEEE Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award, the IEEE Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award and the ACM-IEEE Ken Kennedy Award will be announced at SC13, to be held Nov. 17 – 22 at the Colorado Convention Center. Nominations should be made at the SC13 website; see for details.

IEEE Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award

Established in 1997, the IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray. Previous winners have been recognized for design, engineering and intellectual leadership in creating innovative and successful HPC systems.

One of HPC’s most prestigious awards, winners receive an illuminated certificate and a $10,000 honorarium at a special awards session during the conference. Past winners include Peter M. Kogge, an architect and designer of massively parallel systems; Charles L. Seitz, a designer and architect of high-performance message-passing architectures and networks; and Alan Gara, chief system architect for the three generations of Blue Gene supercomputers.

IEEE Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award

The IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award was established in 1992 in honor of Sidney Fernbach, one of the pioneers in the development and application of high performance computers for solving large computational problems. Nominations that recognize creation of widely-used and innovative software packages, application software and tools are especially solicited. The Fernbach award winner receives a certificate and $2,000.

Past winners include Laxmikant V. Kale and Klaus Schulten, for development of a widely-used parallel software for biomolecular systems simulation; Cleve Moler, for contributions to linear algebra, mathematical software, and enabling tools for computational science; and James W. Demmel, for computational science leadership in creating adaptive, innovative, high-performance linear algebra software. 

ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

The ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy Award, established in 2009, is presented for outstanding contributions to programmability or productivity in computing, together with significant community service or mentoring contributions. The award was established in memory of Ken Kennedy, the founder of Rice University's nationally ranked computer science program and one of the world's foremost experts on high performance computing. Awardees receive a certificate and a $5,000 honorarium.

Past winners include Mary Lou Soffa, for contributions to compiler technology and software engineering, and a lifelong dedication to mentoring and improving diversity in computing; Susan L. Graham, for foundational compilation algorithms and programming tools, research and discipline leadership, and mentoring; and David Kuck, for advances to compiler technology and parallel computing that have improved the cost-effectiveness of multiprocessor computing, as well as for his teaching and mentoring activities.

Questions on the awards may be directed to:

About SC13

SC13, sponsored by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and the IEEE Computer Society, offers a complete technical program, programs for students and educators in HPC, and an exhibition that together showcase the many ways high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis lead to advances in scientific discovery, research, education and commerce. This premier international conference includes a globally attended technical program, workshops, tutorials, a world class exhibit area, demonstrations and opportunities for hands-on learning.

Contact: SC13 Communications: