SC13 Home > SC13 Schedule > SC13 Presentation - Physics-Based Seismic Hazard Analysis on Petascale Heterogeneous Supercomputers

SCHEDULE: NOV 16-22, 2013

When viewing the Technical Program schedule, on the far righthand side is a column labeled "PLANNER." Use this planner to build your own schedule. Once you select an event and want to add it to your personal schedule, just click on the calendar icon of your choice (outlook calendar, ical calendar or google calendar) and that event will be stored there. As you select events in this manner, you will have your own schedule to guide you through the week.

Physics-Based Seismic Hazard Analysis on Petascale Heterogeneous Supercomputers

SESSION: Physical Frontiers


TIME: 3:30PM - 4:00PM

SESSION CHAIR: Richard Vuduc

AUTHOR(S):Yifeng Cui, Efecan Poyraz, Kim B. Olsen, Jun Zhou, Kyle Withers, Scott Callaghan, Jeff Larkin, Clark C. Guest, Dong Ju Choi, Amit Chourasia, Zheqiang Shi, Steven M. Day, Philip J. Maechling, Thomas H. Jordan


We have developed a highly scalable and efficient GPU-based finite-difference code (AWP) for earthquake simulation that implements high throughput, memory locality, communication reduction and communication/computation overlap and achieves linear scalability on Cray XK7 Titan at ORNL and NCSAs Blue Waters system. AWP delivered excellent performance while simulating realistic 0-10 Hz earthquake ground motions relevant to building engineering design. Moreover, we show that AWP provides a speedup by a factor of 110 in key strain tensor calculations critical to probabilistic seismic hazard analysis (PSHA). These performance improvements to critical scientific application software, coupled with improved co-scheduling capabilities of our workflow-managed systems, make a statewide hazard model a goal reachable with existing supercomputers. The performance improvements of GPU-based AWP are expected to save millions of core-hours over the next few years as physics-based seismic hazard analysis is developed using heterogeneous petascale supercomputers.

Chair/Author Details:

Richard Vuduc (Chair) - Georgia Institute of Technology

Yifeng Cui - San Diego Supercomputer Center

Efecan Poyraz - University of California, San Diego

Kim B. Olsen - San Diego State University

Jun Zhou - University of California, San Diego

Kyle Withers - San Diego State University

Scott Callaghan - University of Southern California

Jeff Larkin - NVIDIA Corporation

Clark C. Guest - University of California, San Diego

Dong Ju Choi - San Diego Supercomputer Center

Amit Chourasia - San Diego Supercomputer Center

Zheqiang Shi - San Diego State University

Steven M. Day - San Diego State University

Philip J. Maechling - University of Southern California

Thomas H. Jordan - University of Southern California

Add to iCal  Click here to download .ics calendar file

Add to Outlook  Click here to download .vcs calendar file

Add to Google Calendarss  Click here to add event to your Google Calendar

The full paper can be found in the ACM Digital Library