SC13 Home > SC13 Schedule > SC13 Presentation - Radiative Signatures of the Relativistic Kelvin-Helmholtz Instability

SCHEDULE: NOV 16-22, 2013

When viewing the Technical Program schedule, on the far righthand side is a column labeled "PLANNER." Use this planner to build your own schedule. Once you select an event and want to add it to your personal schedule, just click on the calendar icon of your choice (outlook calendar, ical calendar or google calendar) and that event will be stored there. As you select events in this manner, you will have your own schedule to guide you through the week.

Radiative Signatures of the Relativistic Kelvin-Helmholtz Instability

SESSION: ACM Gordon Bell Finalist II

EVENT TYPE: ACM Gordon Bell Finalists

TIME: 11:00AM - 11:30AM


AUTHOR(S):Michael Bussmann, Heiko Burau, Thomas E. Cowan, Alexander Debus, Axel Huebl, Guido Juckeland, Thomas Kluge, Wolfgang E. Nagel, Richard Pausch, Felix Schmitt, Ulrich Schramm, Joseph Schuchart, Rene Widera


We present a particle-in-cell simulation of the relativistic Kelvin-Helmholtz Instability (KHI) that for the first time delivers angularly resolved radiation spectra of the particle dynamics during the formation of the KHI. This enables studying the formation of the KHI with unprecedented spatial, angular and spectral resolution. Our results are of great importance for understanding astrophysical jet formation and comparable plasma phenomena by relating the particle motion observed in the KHI to its radiation signature. The innovative methods presented here on the implementation of the particle-in-cell algorithm on graphic processing units can be directly adapted to any many-core parallelization of the particle-mesh method. With these methods we see a peak performance of 7.176 PFLOP/s (double-precision) plus 1.449 PFLOP/s (single-precision), an efficiency of 96% when weakly scaling from 1 to 18432 nodes, an efficiency of 68.92% and a speed up of 794 (ideal: 1152) when strongly scaling from 16 to 18432 nodes.

Chair/Author Details:

Taisuke Boku (Chair) - University of Tsukuba

Michael Bussmann - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Heiko Burau - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Thomas E. Cowan - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Alexander Debus - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Axel Huebl - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Guido Juckeland - Technical University Dresden

Thomas Kluge - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Wolfgang E. Nagel - Technical University Dresden

Richard Pausch - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Felix Schmitt - Technical University Dresden

Ulrich Schramm - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Joseph Schuchart - Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Rene Widera - Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Add to iCal  Click here to download .ics calendar file

Add to Outlook  Click here to download .vcs calendar file

Add to Google Calendarss  Click here to add event to your Google Calendar

The full paper can be found in the ACM Digital Library